Resting Not Running

As you may already spotted, this is a blog about running. I have done absolutely no running this week which leaves me in a bit of a quandary about what to write. My running break was on the instructions of my Coach. Today I do 3k but that’s it. I did walk 5k but there has been no running and no strength training.

image

That’s not me by the way in case you were confused.

It’s been great.

The last 4 weeks have been quite intense with hill, tempo and long runs and I was beginning to feel it. My primary concern in training for the half marathon was not to get injured so this week has been all about the recovery.

In addition to that we have had a new kitchen fitted, which has put the house in chaos so I needed the chance to focus on something else.

I don’t yet know what the next 4 weeks will bring but I have a feeling it’s going to involve some hard work.

4 thoughts on “Resting Not Running

  1. Sometimes your body just really needs the break and hope it bounces back for you soon enough. I had to take 2 weeks completely off running just before a marathon a couple of years back and was sceptical that it would make any difference but it worked wonders. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Taking time off is tough, for real, but when you come back it’s the best thing! When I was forced to take the month of December off, I was afraid my running would have suffered, but when I came back, I was suddenly able to run a sub-10 minute mile? WHAAAT? Do I just need to take every other month off? Don’t tempt me…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

