Dublin Rock and Roll Half Marathon here I come

image

So after all my talk of half marathon training it was time to put my money where my mouth is and register for one, and where better to start than with a Rock and Roll Half? Definitely meets my need for glamour and excitement. It’s not until August so it’s entirely possible that I will have a half done before then but this one is my long term goal.

My training is going much better too. After my disastrous 10k last week, I changed up a lot of things. As they say, doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results is the definition of madness. Firstly I decided to move my strength training sessions and take Saturday as a rest day so I was running on fresh legs. I went out earlier than usual and ran a different route, a flat out and back.

I had a great run, took it easy for the first 3k, then upped the pace gradually and ended strong and fast with a negative split.

Onto week 3 of my training plan. Happy Running

8 thoughts on “Dublin Rock and Roll Half Marathon here I come

  1. Glad to hear you got your problems with the 10k sorted out, and the HM is very exciting! I think a Dublin race will definitely have to go on my bucket list too. I’ve been to Dublin a few times but only ever as work trips, and not for years. I’d love to see more of it. I can’t do 2016 but 2017 might be a distinct possibility.

    Like

  2. Well if you do, be sure to let me know! Maybe we could persuade the RunChat crowd to do a meet up ๐Ÿ™‚ Dublin Marathon was voted the best International Race by the UK Run awards. There are loads of races in Dublin (to the detriment of the rest of the country sometimes but that is one of my own bugbears) to choose from

    Like

Leave a Reply

