A diagnosis

Today I was diagnosed with Irritable Bowel Syndrome.  It has been a relief (no pun intended)  to find out what has been going on with my insides as it has been getting increasingly painful.

So now I am on some medications which have helped already and hopefully my current flare up will be under control enough to do my hill run tomorrow.

My always supportive GP tells me my running is “one of the best things you could be doing” to help manage the condition, but then she says that about nearly everything I do (she really is supportive or running is a cure-all).

Some reading, admittedly from the reliable sources of Google and Wikipedia,  suggest race stress may cause me problems but we will cross that bridge when we get to it. In the mean time I need to make sure I don’t stress about my training.

Anyone else been dealing with IBS as a runner?

11 thoughts on “A diagnosis

  1. I’ve struggled with tummy problems for years. Dr said it was part of aging and to just deal with it. After about 6 years I’ve gotten it under control through trial and error. 2 thoughts for you… Lactose intolerant? It can happen as we age. Advil? One of my guilty pleasures for years until I figured out that it was one of the problems

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

