Review, New and Hugh

Hello and a belated Happy New Year!

Since my successful 10k pb, I took a 10 day break from running and then it was full on Christmas. As I work in retail and have 3 children, this was a busy time of year for me and both blogging and running sufferred. Probably like you all, I ate my way through the festive period and it actually came as a relief to both me and my jeans when it was all over and I could go back running.

A quick review of 2015. This was a big year for my running! My achievements, in summary (This is mostly for my own benefit, feel free to skip it):-

  • I did some actual running. No, seriously, after a 6 month break, I returned to running regularly on February 8th
  • I powered back to fitness using the couch to 5k app and ran my first full 5k in a year on March 5th.
  • Began training for my first ever 10k, reaching my target distance in training for the first time on May 4th, even achieving a negative split.
  • June 1st I took part in my first (and to date only) 10k race, the Dublin Women’s Mini Marathon, achieving a goal I had for many years. Received my first ever medal in my whole long life 🙂
  • June 2nd I started blogging to take part in Junetastic and Running Not Racing was born.
  • The rest of the year was spent training to get my 10k time down, which I achieved by knocking 2 mins off my pb on December 8th.
  • In 2015 I covered 760 km (472 miles) and ran 112 times.

So what are my goals for 2016? Well, if 2015 was my year of the 10k, then 2016 is going to be the year of the Half Marathon. My goals for the year are

  • Train for and take part in 2 half marathons, without any injuries
  • Take part in at least 2 5k races
  • Take part in at least 2 10k races, repeating the Dublin  Mini Marathon
  • Take at least 1 minute off my current 5k pb of 36.16
  • Celebrate my 45th birthday in April by taking part in a race.

Only time will tell, but I think these are realistic goals and I have a major new advancement in my running  – a coach!

download

 

Hugh is my cousin and a masters Elite runner and trained coach. Over Christmas, we had a long chat about running (much to the boredom of the rest of the family, but what can you do?) and I explained I was struggling to find a Half marathon training plan that I felt worked for me. Most of them seemed to want me to take a big step backwards and return to running 4 and 5 k only for weeks on end. Then they added distance to the LSR in great chunks. I knew this would not work for me.

So Hugh offered to do a personalised plan for me. Of course I jumped at the chance. He took details of my 5/10k pbs,  how often and when I felt I could run. A week later and I received the first 4 weeks of my training plan – and the announcement that he would be coaching me! I have no set date for my first half yet but have placed my trust in my Coach and we shall see what he sends me! This week (and the next 3) have been set at a hill running session (increasing the number of reps each week to a max of 10), a 5k tempo run and a slow 10k (it was VERY slow today).

I am maintaining my strength training twice a week and trying to include some walking too.

2016 is set to be an exciting year. I will be fitter and stronger at 45 than at 35 (and probably even 25) and as Pooh Bear would say, that is a Very Good Thing.

 

 

 

One thought on “Review, New and Hugh

Leave a Reply

