“Aaaand I will Fix You” *

Just in case you don’t recognise it, that is ripped borrowed from the Coldplay song Fix You.

Today, running fixed me. As I have mentioned before, my work has been very fraught recently and this week has been peak-fraught. In addition, my daughter fell and broke her arm at the weekend, requiring surgery and 3 mental pins. She is only young and the pain means she is not sleeping much.

My job requires me to be on the phone an awful lot, solving people’s problems and listening to what has gone wrong and fixing it. By 1.00 p.m. today I simply couldn’t listen to anymore of this and decided to go for my first run since Saturday.

My goal was to run 8k. I didn’t especially care about pace as I simply needed to run the adrenaline out of my system. I also needed the daylight and it was a joy just to be outside. It worked like a dream. With each kilometre, the tension faded, the racing, colliding, panicked thoughts calmed and began to take a shape. By 6km, there were no thoughts at all, just concentration on breathing, running and not falling over.

I came home a different woman, a better parent, wife and employee. Thanks running, you fixed me 🙂

5 thoughts on ““Aaaand I will Fix You” *

  1. We just had a broken arm at our house too. No pins, just a half cast for 1 week, regular cast for 2 and a removable brace for another week full time and then for the next month after that wear it during PE.

    My daughter broke her arm and it took me a week to figure it out. I think I’m still looking for a run that will take that guilt away.

    Glad you got in some good therapy. Hopefully things will slow down and you can run more for fun than for medicine.

    Patty

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

