Tag, I’m It – Runner Questions and Answers

Yesterday Amy and Gideon from britsrundisney tagged me in the Runner Questions and Answers, thank you guys. At the bottom you will find the 5 Bloggers I am tagging too but, like Amy said, feel free to join in even if you don’t get tagged, its a great way to get to know each other

1. Would you prefer to run along a beach trail or mountain trail?

A beach, every time, which is why I was so excited by my costal run while on holiday. Unfortunately, I live in a very flat, land-locked county so I don’t often get the opportunity to run either.

2. If you could choose the flavour of Gatorade at your next race’s aid stations, what would it be?

I’m sorry, we don’t have Gatorade here in Ireland so I have no idea. However, it sounds a bit like an enery sports drink like our Lucozade. If it is, the answer is NONE. Sports drinks are the work of the devil! Water for me please.

3. If you are given a $100 gift card for a running store, what would you purchase with it?

Hmmmm. $100 is approximately €100 so I would start with some new capri pants as mine won’t stay up (too big, too small, I can’t decide). Then would be a running cap to keep the rain out of my eyes and probably a new fleece/top layer for the impending autumn.

4.Do you prefer to use a training plan or wake up and then decide how far or fast you want to run?

I can answer this with some authority, give me a plan baby! During June and July, having reached my 10k goal, I went with a wake up and run approach and it did not work for me. I lost motivation and my runs became fewer, shorter and unsatisfying. I am now back using a plan from My Asics and loving it.

5.Would you rather start your run with the uphill and end with the downhill or start your run with the downhill and end with the uphill?

Could we just not have a hill, please? (waits for response from Running Police… apparently not) OK then, at the beginning.

6. When you can’t run, what kind of cross-training do you choose to do?

I love to swim, aquarobics for the low impact and am a fan of Jillian Michaels and Davina McCall’s workout DVDs for when you cannot leave the house.

7.What is your preference –> out and back, point to point, or loop runs?

Always a loop. I occasionally do out and backs but much prefer a loop

8.If you could recommend ANY running related item to a new runner it would be?

The Zen Lab Couch to 5K app. Its free and got me started.

9.Do you see any wild animals while out on your runs?

Yes loads. I see lots of different birds including pheasants. I have seen hedgehogs, a badger and even a fleeting glimpse of a fox. I also see a lot of domesticated animals, cattle, horse and sheep. And of course, my running partner Max the dog.

10.Ever gotten lost while out on a run?

Yes, just the once when I missed my turn on a new 10k loop. I ended up having to do 13k and did not enjoy the experience. I was knackered when I finally got back to the car.

11. If you could have one meal waiting and ready for you each time you got home from a run for the next 30 days… what would it be?

This is a tough one. Of course, I would like to say a nutritionally balanced meal with just the right amount of protein, fat and carbs. The truth is I would probably have porrige if very hungry or jam on traditional Irish soda bread, which is a dense wholegrain bread. I also have to watch my salt levels after a run or get nauseous and am very partial to a packet of O’Donnell’s Salt and Vinegar crisps.

soda breda
soda breda

12.Capris or shorts? What do you run in most?

Capris. Shorts would be a waste of money here in Ireland as the weather would only be warm enough two days a year to wear shorts. Also, there are just some things the world does not need to see and me in shorts is one of them.

13. At what mile (or how many minutes) into your run does your body start to feel like it is warming up and ready to go?

1 km in (5/8ths of a mile).

14. What do you do with your key when you run?

I run with a water bottle in its own belt, with the bottle at the small of my back. I have a pocket for my keys in the belt.

15.If you could re-live any race that you have done in the past, which one?

I haven’t run too many races, I run more for the peace in my own head. However, I did enjoy the Dublin Women’s Mini Marathon in June and plan to do it again in 2016.

16. What type of run is your least favourite?

That would be a tempo run, thanking you

17. When you go for a run, do you leave from your front door or drive somewhere to start?

I usually get in my car and drive. 80% of my runs are on a trail laid out in bogland (peatland) near my home. It has 3 loops of different lengths that combine to make up 8k, and of course you can repeat them to add distance. The running surface is mixed between gravel, road and mud path. The nature is plentiful, the air crystal clear and the view changes every km.

18. When running in daylight, are sunglasses a must or an annoyance?

I am very, very short sighted (myopic) and wear glasses all the time. I don’t really use sunglasses but do increasingly find the glasses annoying as they slip down my nose when I sweat.

When you get tired, what keeps you from quitting?

I always run alone so all motivation comes from within. I am very goal driven, which is why following a plan works for me. I derive great satisfaction from seeing the run on MyAsics marked as complete. When running, I talk to myself a lot, telling myself to slow down but don’t walk, just go the next bend/mark on the road. I daydream about running when I am not doing it and when it gets hard I remind myself how much I wanted to be running. I also try to take a moment during each run to be grateful that I am healthy and have the opportunity to run at all.

So that’s me 🙂 I am now tagging

Tartan jogger

Beard Hair in My Coffee

Unironedman

Unsportywomencanrun

Look forward to hearing all about you

4 thoughts on “Tag, I’m It – Runner Questions and Answers

Leave a Reply

