Run-ourism

Ballycastle beach
Ballycastle beach

Well here’s a sentence I never thought I’d write; I have been having so much fun running this week B-)

I have spent the week on holiday in Northern Ireland, my first ever trip there and my family and I had a blast. I managed 3 runs during our stay and was a proper run-ourist or maybe a tourunner? Suffice to say,  I saw lots while out running that I wouldn’t normally see.

We stayed in the small seaside town of Ballycastle in Co. Antrim and for.the first 2 days the weather was truly awful with torrential, cold rain. Then the sun came out and it was beautiful!

My first run was in the early evening sun, a comfortable 8k that took me through the immaculate seafront gardens with playground, sculptures, fountain and lawns then through a mini golf course depicting Irish Legends and up a hill where I ran around the ruins of a medieval abbey.

DSC_0047

Further on I rejoined the coast and ran next to the sea for 4kms in the company of numerous runners, walkers and cyclists.

DSC_0051

Back down the hill, past the busy tennis courts and over to the marina where the colourful flags of at least 6 different nations flapped busily in the breeze.

It was heavenly and a run I won’t forget in a hurry.

2 thoughts on “Run-ourism

  1. There’s something so invigorating about running in a new place, especially when there’s so much to see! When you run in the same place (or places) over and over again you tend to not notice little things anymore. I also get bored easily. Hitting new spots whether they’re a few miles from where I normally run or even in the town where my parents live (about 2 hours from where I live) makes you feel like you’re in a new world or something! It looks like your running sights were lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

